The Two-Minute Lifesaver

It’s nearly 9 pm at night. Tired enough, I have chosen to call it a day and have refreshed myself with a luxurious cold shower. I tuck into bed with my laptop on my lap and a bowl of steaming hot Maggi noodles in one hand. As I take my first bite, a realization dawns upon me-‘What, in the world, would I have done without Maggi’- a time cum life saver, a friend, a comfort factor, a mood booster, a treat, a memory…-I doubt if there’s any tangible role that Maggi has not yet played in my life!

It all began when I was studying at Mayo College Girls’ School, Ajmer, a residential boarding school in Rajasthan. Let me break the myth first- A boarding school can very well mould you into an all rounder and groom you with all those impeccable manners your parents so desire in you but it sure leaves you with a voracious appetite, much to their disgust. Not surprisingly, even though the food served in school was of a high standard with a varied menu, our love for ‘tuck’( read ‘strictly prohibited outside food’) never died out. Amongst everything else- the Mars, Toblerones, Wai-Wais, Chilli Garlic Spread, Pizza, Butter chicken and Bread, it was Maggi that remained top priority. You would probably lift your eyebrows ( in disgust or surprise, am not quite sure) if I told you how we managed cooking it but here is how it was all done:

‘Firstly crush the Maggi into tiny little pieces. Spread it over a plastic/polythene bag large enough for some ten people to dig their fingers into. Now depending upon the availability, either use water heated in an electric kettle or from a geyser(we used the latter and now don’t make faces) to completely immerse the Maggi.  Once the Maggi is semi-cooked and soft, drain out most of the water and mix in the masala- with your hands, yes you read it right, with your hands. For that extra special Mayo touch, add a dash of CGS( Chilli Garlic Spread) and Laughing Cow cheese. Voila! resist that(we never could) and I will pay you just about anything’.

During exams, the frequency of Maggi consumption increased and often extended well into the midnight. We did take over the house stove at times but nothing could beat the spontaneity and taste of this ‘handmade’ Maggi. And well, that’s how my love for Maggi began.

Back home, I have tried out several flavours and variations of Maggi- Tomato, Curry, Chatpata and of course, Maggi Masala with many other tit-bits thrown in. I guess if you have a penchant for hot food ( atleast I do), go for Maggi Curry or just spice up your Maggi Masala. Maggi Curry has just the right blend of garam masala, chilli powder and the normal tastemaker so a packet would make for a spicy filling meal during lunch or dinner. However, to add zing to Maggi Masala, you can follow my instructions: Shallow fry some finely chopped onions, tomatoes and green chillies and then add the tastemaker. Add two teaspoons of red chilli powder, sauté well and add a small cup of water. Once it starts boiling, add the Maggi and cook till its semi dry. Savour the treat.   However, when it comes to cooking Maggi, make sure you add just the right amount of water so as to avoid the Maggi from getting stodgy. Let it be crisp, spicy and hot.

Also it’s not without reason that I have called Maggi my ‘friend’ , my ‘mood booster’ and my ‘comfort factor’-it has stayed with me all along, from Mayo to SRCC, becoming an integral ‘meal deal’. SRCC was probably the second largest Maggi hub in North Campus after Tom Uncle (the latter, I didn’t relish much). Irrfan’s spicy vegetable Maggi was Pratik’s (my best friend) and my all time favourite. Whether it was to relieve an argument, to celebrate after a test or just to relax after a lecture, we would soon rush to slurp this pocket friendly snack.

 Today, even at Warwick, Maggi has continued to remain faithful. Where the bland British food fails, Maggi comes into play- quick and easy with the same great taste plus it saves the hassle of cooking just when am too lazy to plan a meal.

So in a nutshell, whether you like it plain or with cheese or with onions, you cannot but agree that it is indeed the most popular Indian snack. And yes, don’t think its just you or me who’s addicted to it- its come to define nearly every generation and will continue to do so- if you don’t trust me, ask your dad what he’d like for dinner when your mom’s not home and get back to me if the choices do not also contain Maggi.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Two-Minute Lifesaver

  1. Rasanpreet says:

    Anu….tht was good…i miss maggie and u…btw remember on your wedding even your clothes are meant to have maggie stiched on to them….:)

    • sangita says:

      This ia a wonderful piece anushree…our ordinary 2 min maggi assuming multiple importance…its an instant hit with kids today too:)

  2. Parnika says:

    maggi.. 😀 ❤

Leave a comment